WESSA ECO-SCHOOLS

Equipping children to live sustainably in the future 

Eco-Schools is the largest global sustainable schools programme – it starts in the classroom and expands to the community by engaging the next generation in action-based learning

The Eco-Schools programme is an international programme of the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE) that was developed to support environmental learning in the classroom. The programme is active in 68 countries and 59 000 schools around the world and has been implemented in South Africa since 2003 by WESSA. The programme is aimed at creating awareness and action around environmental sustainability in schools and their surrounding communities as well as supporting Education for Sustainable Development in the national curriculum. With over 50% of the content in some CAPS subjects being environmental in nature, Eco-Schools makes a positive contribution towards improving education in South Africa.

 

Since 2003 more than 4500 schools across all nine provinces have participated in the programme reaching 1 036 000 learners and 41 400 teachers annually. The programme accredits schools that make a commitment to continuously improve their school’s environmental performance.

 

The Eco-Schools programme is operational in both supported and unsupported schools. Schools may register any time throughout the year and submit a portfolio of evidence for an award within 8 to 12 months of registration with the Provincial Awards Ceremonies taking place in March annually.

REGISTER

 

If you are interested in the Wessa Eco-schools programme please register. You can do so by registering online by selecting online registration below or by downloading the registration form by selecting the registration form below.

Contact Details

 

Cindy-Lee Cloete
General Manager: WESSA Schools and Youth Unit
Cell 064 752 0598
Email cindy.cloete@wessa.co.za

YOUR WESSA SCHOOL PROGRAMMES TEAM – CONTACT US

 

NAME CELL EMAIL DESIGNATION
Nomfundo Ndlovu 066 349 0637 nomfundo.ndlovu@wessa.co.za Senior Schools & Youth Programme Manager
Hazel Khoza 072 741 8223 hazel.khoza@wessa.co.za Programmes & Project Manager (KZN, MP, LP, NW, GP & FS)
Sakhile Sithole 066 471 5425 sakhile.sithole@wessa.co.za Programmes & Project Manager (WC & NC)
Zwakele Ngwenya 063 693 8656 zwakele.ngwenya@wessa.co.za Programmes & Projects Coordinator (MP, FS & NW)
Daniel Jackson 076 789 1206 daniel.jackson@wessa.co.za Programmes & Projects Coordinator (GP & LP)
Mahlatse Moabelo 064 958 5618 mpuele.moabelo@wessa.co.za Programmes & Projects Coordinator (KZN & EC)
Nosphamandla Ndamane 064 880 3777 nosphamandla.ndamane@wessa.co.za Programmes & Projects Coordinator (WC & NC)