YOUNG REPORTERS FOR THE ENVIRONMENT (YRE)

Equipping children to live sustainably in the future 

Giving young people a voice through writing, video and photography…

Young Reporters for the Environment Video

OVERVIEW

Young Reporters for the Environment (YRE) is a youth-led environmental journalism initiative that aims to enable our youth to take a stand for their local social and environmental issues through the media of writing, photography or video. It creates a productive space for our youth to reimagine and craft a sustainable and environmentally just future while developing skills to make a positive contribution to redress environmental injustices. YRE is a creative, participatory, multidisciplinary, nurturing, action and solution-oriented, and fun space for young like-minded individuals and groups.

 

The YRE programme uses a 4-Step methodological process to guide local campaigns and enhance skills in critical thinking, research and problem-solving. The programme uses the Sustainable Development Goals as International annual themes for young reporters to adopt and explore.

 

YRE is co-ordinated internationally by the Foundation for Environmental Education (FEE). The programme is active in 35 countries around the world and implemented in South Africa by WESSA.

Contact Details

 

Cindy-Lee Cloete
Head: Programmes & Projects
Cell 064 752 0598
Email cindy.cloete@wessa.co.za

 Registration Queries

 

Email registrations@wessa.co.za

YOUR WESSA SCHOOL PROGRAMMES TEAM – CONTACT US

 

NAME CELL EMAIL DESIGNATION
Nomfundo Ndlovu 066 349 0637 nomfundo.ndlovu@wessa.co.za Senior Schools & Youth Programme Manager
Hazel Khoza 072 741 8223 hazel.khoza@wessa.co.za Programmes & Project Manager (KZN, MP, LP, NW, GP & FS)
Sakhile Sithole 066 471 5425 sakhile.sithole@wessa.co.za Programmes & Project Manager (WC & NC)
Zwakele Ngwenya 063 693 8656 zwakele.ngwenya@wessa.co.za Programmes & Projects Coordinator (MP, FS & NW)
Daniel Jackson 076 789 1206 daniel.jackson@wessa.co.za Programmes & Projects Coordinator (GP & LP)
Mahlatse Moabelo 064 958 5618 mpuele.moabelo@wessa.co.za Programmes & Projects Coordinator (KZN & EC)
Nosphamandla Ndamane 064 880 3777 nosphamandla.ndamane@wessa.co.za Programmes & Projects Coordinator (WC & NC)